About MTAC

Join the more than 800 members that we are proud to serve!

About MTAC

The Motor Transport Association of Connecticut, Inc. (MTAC) was founded in 1920 with less than 20 members. Over the years, membership has grown to almost 1,400 companies. In 1933, MTAC joined the American Highway Freight Association. Later that year, the American Highway Freight Association and the Federated Truck Association merged to become the American Trucking Associations (ATA). MTAC has been part of the ATA Federation ever since.

Much has changed over the last 90 years. Many traditional freight haulers have either closed their operations or moved their operations out of Connecticut.

Federal regulations governing trucks engaged in interstate for-hire carry have expanded to now include just about every commercial vehicle on the road.

Small companies such as landscaping or plumbing that happen to use trucks in their business are just as likely to be MTAC members as traditional over-the-road freight companies.

Whether a true trucking company or a business that happens to use a truck, each finds value in belonging to MTAC. Many members have been with the association for 50 years or more.

As an organization, MTAC maintains trusted, long-term relationships with nearly every member. People rely on the guidance and advice offered by MTAC in many areas. This explains why so many members feel as if they are as much a part of a “family” as they are members of a trade association.

Government Representation

MTAC Staff

  • John Blair, President
  • Marcy Flemke, Advocacy and Operations Coordinator
  • Todd Petell, Safety Director

MTAC Board of Directors

MTAC Board of Directors

PositionNameAssociated Business
ChairpersonAxel CarrionUPS
1st Vice ChairmanAndy Anastasio Jr.Anastasio & Sons Trucking
2nd Vice ChairmanJames Vitali, Sr.Tuxis - Ohr's Fuel, Inc.
TreasurerNorm BolducKay's Trucking
SecretaryOwen WhiteRoberts Energy
PresidentJohn BlairMotor Transport Assn. of Connecticut, Inc.

Directors through Dec. 31, 2024

NameAssociated Business
Alan BaumertNutmeg International Trucks Inc.
Richard ConnorsManchester Ice & Fuel Inc
Bobbi HillW.B. Hill, Inc.
Rick SamplesCummins Metropower Inc.

Directors through Dec. 31, 2025

NameAssociated Business
Donald DeVivoDATTCO
Kurt LindelandConnecticut Mulch Distributors
Stephen O'ConnorPenske
Don SchmidtCoastal Carriers
Carl StebbinsNew England Tractor Trailer Training School of Conn.

Permanent Directors (Past Chairpersons)

NameAssociated Business
Helen BrooksFedEx Corporation
Mike PainePaine's, Inc.
John PruchnickiCoastal Carriers of CT
Andy AnastasioAnastasio & Sons Trucking
Norman BolducKay's Trucking, Inc.
Joseph R. Christoni, Jr.J. R. Christoni Inc.
Leland R. HawthorneLeland R. Hawthorne & Son, Inc.
Cheryl LaPagliaPetruzzello Transportation Inc
Frank D. Mariano
James Salter, Sr.Salter's Express Company Inc.
Owen WhiteRoberts Energy

Honorary Directors

  • Bob Hamilton
  • Tony Portanova from TransitCom. Inc.