US DOT logo

Buttigieg, Landrieu lead White House Infrastructure Task Force

From Transport Topics.

President Joe Biden has created a Cabinet-level task force that will set priorities and oversee implementation of the comprehensive $1 trillion infrastructure bill that he signed into law on Nov. 15.

The Infrastructure Implementation Task Force — consisting of Transportation Secretary Pete Buttigieg, Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo, Interior Secretary Deb Haaland and Energy Secretary Jennifer Granholm — was created by Biden via executive order soon after he signed the bill. Its mission is to monitor strategies for investing the bill’s funding, including identifying opportunities for job creation, implementing severe-weather resilient infrastructure programs, and promoting fuel efficiency across mobility corridors.

Specifically, the task force “will be committed to break down barriers and drive implementation of infrastructure investments across all levels of government to realize the president’s vision of rebuilding our nation’s infrastructure and positioning the U.S. to compete and win in the 21st century,” per the White House.

Buttigieg, who will manage key portions of the law’s provisions, said, “With the passage of President Biden’s bipartisan infrastructure law, we will be able to support far more infrastructure projects to support jobs and everyday life in communities across the country.”

“So many before tried and failed to accomplish such significant investments in our families, in our communities and in our future,” added Granholm. “The bipartisan infrastructure deal will create a generation of good-paying union jobs, build better roads and bridges, ports and airports, broadband for all and electricity transmission to combat the climate crisis. Every state will benefit; every American can be proud.”

See the complete article online at Transport Topics.